“I always thought of myself as having unlimited imagination. That’s something not many people in China share.”

Leody Fu, Founder of AppMagics

appMagics

Type

Mixed Reality

Founder(s)

Leody Fu

Year Invested

2016

Investment Stage

Series A (April 2016)

Company Intro

Founded in 2014, appMagics is a fast-growing start-up that bridges the gap between smartphone users and virtual reality (VR) content and devices. Based on the idea that augmented reality (AR) and VR will soon blend seamlessly to create mixed reality (MR), appMagics is positioned to lead the trend by specializing in image processing, detection, including advanced facial expression and gesture tracking, and rendering. By partnering with existing mobile social live streaming platforms, IP owners and licensing its FaceMagic SDK & AVATAR, appMagics offers many millions of people the chance to render their faces in real-time MR and interact with others via the 3D avatar of their choice.

Website

“I thought we could improve the interface between virtual, augmented and mixed reality not only for mobile users, but VR and AR users as well, providing surreal interactions that map all the ways we communicate – through facial expressions, voice and gesture.”
Leody Fu, Founder of AppMagics

Leody (appMagics)

"My first impression of Scott was that he is very smart. He has a quick understanding, a real feel for what I was thinking, not many people can do that."

Scott (PurpleSky)

"Leody has a very strong technical background and an EMBA degree. She had founded three start-ups and worked with a number of famous TMT companies, not to mention leading some very interesting product development and ecosystem buildup at Microsoft."

The Story

Scott
appMagics has cutting-edge software. The FaceMagic SDK is not even their main business, its just one expression of their capability. Leody and her team want to become the company to provide MR user experiences to multiple area partners and users. That was very attractive.
Leody
Top start-ups should have insight, either technical or business-related. Tech insights drive innovation, and I determined that the camera and screen (real or virtual) is the true essence and focal interface point of VR, AR and MR, not only VR glasses or other hardware. Finding a way to allow users to create new content and interact across mobile and VR/AR devices, that was our USP.
Scott
Leody couldn’t find the business scenario and value from their technology in the beginning. We helped appMagics realize the business case, as well as develop their role in the cooperation with key partners active in the development of virtual and mixed reality. There is now very strong potential with licensing and IP monetization going forward.
Leody
Scott has real insight into what people want to do. He made the connection with important business partners happen, and he had faith in me as a person and in appMagics.
Back to Portfolio

More Stories

Top

“我一直认为自己拥有无限的想象力,这种想象力是中国绝大多数人都欠缺的。”

appMagics 创始人 ─ 伏英娜

appMagics

类型

混合现实

创始人

伏英娜

投资年份

2016年

投资阶段

A 轮(2016年4月)

公司介绍

appMagics 成立于 2014 年,是一家专注于计算机视觉混合现实领域的高速成长型公司,它将智能手机用户与虚拟现实/混合现实内容的生产和消费相连接,跨平台提供给多种智能硬件设备,构建虚拟元素和现实场景的实时交互体验。appMagics 通过在虚拟和现实的仿真融合、表情/动作捕捉与交互控制方面的技术创新,开创 VR/AR 融合体验(混合现实)的全新社交互动模式。通过与现有的社交/直播平台、IP 合作伙伴在 FaceMagic SDK 和 AVATAR 方面的技术授权合作,数十亿人将得以通过面部表情捕捉和控制的能力,突破虚拟和现实间的次元壁,使用丰富逼真的 3D 元素充分表达自我和感受超现实的互动体验。

公司网站

“我一直认为我们可以改善虚拟现实、增强现实和混合现实的交互体验,打通移动用户和 VR/AR 用户跨设备间的实时互动,更重要的是利用人类所有的沟通方式 —— 包括表情、声音及手势等。”
appMagics 创始人 ─ 伏英娜

Leody (appMagics)

"相当聪明,这是我对 Scott 的第一印象。他有很强的理解能力,可以快速理解我在想什么,而这并不是很多人可以做到的。"

Scott (紫辉创投)

"Leody 拥有颇为资深的技术背景,同时拥有 EMBA 学位。她不仅创办过三家创业公司,在微软也以团队领导者的身份负责了很多很有趣的项目研发以及开发者生态构建。"

The Story

Scott
appMagics 拥有最为先进的软件产品 FaceMagics 和相关的深厚技术积累。FaceMagics 不仅是其主打产品,同时也是这家公司的核心竞争力和价值体现。Leody 和她的团队渴望打造一家可以融合虚拟与现实的公司,这相当具有吸引力。
Leody
优秀的创业公司需要有洞察力,无论是技术洞察还是商业洞察。技术洞察驱动创新,我坚信相机和屏幕 —— 不止限于虚拟/增强现实眼镜类智能外设 —— 是 VR、AR 与 MR 融合交互的关键。解决如何让用户跨越设备间的制约,产生实时可互动的内容,就是我们的独特之处。

Scott
Leody 初期对自身技术积累的产品化和应用场景也曾有过困惑和探索。我们对接了她和映客的合作中,与 appMagics 一同摸索出清晰的商业思路,愈发明确了在 VR/MR 目前的发展阶段,appMagics 应该充当什么角色,采取什么合作伙伴模式。伴随着软件授权和IP变现的商业模式及潜在的价值挖掘,这块领域将拥有无限的想象空间。
Leody
Scott 对于用户需求具有很强的洞察力。在他的帮助之下,我们与重要商业伙伴达成了合作关系,更为重要的是,他对我个人和 appMagics 都深具信心。
回到投资项目

More Stories

Top