“There was an opportunity to help people with something of real value to share find their core audience.”

Yousheng Feng, Founder of Inke

Inke

Type

Social Network

Founder(s)

Yousheng Feng

Year Invested

2015

Investment Stage

Angel (Nov 2015),
Series A (Dec 2015)

Company Intro

Inke is China’s leading mobile live-streaming app. Leveraging a minimal and intuitive user interface (UI) in tandem with ultra-smooth live streaming technology, the app achieved viral success with the post-90s generation in China seeking a platform to entertain and express themselves. By offering users the ability to purchase and donate virtual gifts, the team drew on Chinese culture to create an ecosystem that offers users an incentive to create rather than just consume content. Inke is, in the words of AppAnnie, the first global player “to figure out how to monetize mobile live streaming,” having secured more than 50 million downloads in its first 15 months and powered up the global app revenue rankings for both iOS and Android.

Website

“We wanted to build a completely open platform with no brokers or managers between the host and the audience. There are no humans involved. Who is promoted is entirely handled by algorithms, so there are no agents who need a cut. That’s different from other platforms, which offer no hope to the 'average' person.”
Yousheng Feng, Founder of Inke

Yousheng (Inke)

"Brett is an advisor for Inke. He provides useful and proactive advice on how to deal with big finance, government relationships and overseas business. He wants to help grow Inke to be the global leader."

Brett (PurpleSky)

"Yousheng’s got real vision. He wants Inke to be for the masses, so that anyone can use it to demonstrate their talent. It’s a very egalitarian view. He wants to have the best platform but still keep it raw, and he’s figured out how to attract the right people."

The Story

Yousheng
After working in the music industry for 10 years or so, I still wanted to work in an entertainment-related field. The younger generation had switched from TV to mobile, and this was happening along with a rise in popularity of live-streaming apps. That’s where the idea for Inke came from.
Brett
There is definitely a generational aspect. Feng and his team tapped into what this post-90s generation of young people want: unvarnished, unpolished reality. The more raw and direct it is, the better.
Yousheng
We had a clear direction right from the beginning. We focused on young, educated urbanites in tier one cities in China. The clarity of our positioning made us stand out from the competition.
Brett
Inke were also the first to get everything right – the first to really create a network effect. The UI is simple and clean. The core IP was created by Chinese engineers. They also figured out how to make money flow in smoothly using China’s very mature mobile payments infrastructure.
Yousheng
From day one, Inke’s profit derived from the sale of virtual items, just like online games. Users can buy and send virtual items as gifts to whichever broadcaster they like, and the revenue is split between them and us. Advertising may be a possible choice in future or perhaps integrating e-commerce.
Brett
I was brought in to help craft Inke’s strategy into one that will succeed in the long run. I was very enthusiastic about the industry, and having helped build many businesses, as well as hiring new teams, all over in Asia, I thought I could help.
Yousheng
PurpleSky and Brett have exceeded expectations because they provide not just resources, but advice, experience and value. They're the most interactive VC Inke has ever met.
Back to Portfolio

More Stories

Top

“现在有这样一个机会,可以让有想法和价值的人将自己的世界分享给他们的观众。”

映客创始人 ─ 奉佑生

映客

类型

社交网络

创始人

奉佑生

投资年份

2015年

投资阶段

天使轮 (2015年11月)
A 轮 (2015年12月)

公司介绍

映客是中国领先的移动直播应用。通过极简的用户界面设计及颇为流畅的直播传输技术,映客成功吸引了诸多渴望通过在线直播平台展示自我的 90 后用户。映客付费购买及赠送虚拟礼物的功能,一定程度上改变了中国互联网使用者的习惯 —— 培养他们创造生产在线内容,而不再是以消费原有内容。按照移动互联网研究公司 AppAnnie 的说法,映客是全球第一个能够在手机直播领域获利的公司。映客在最初的 15 个月内下载量已经突破 5 千万,并同时在 iOS 及 Android 占据了全球移动应用收入排行榜的有利位置。

公司网站

我们渴望在播客和观众之间建立一个完全开放的平台 —— 没有经纪人或者第三方介入。谁脱引而出,排在主播榜单首位完全基于算法,所以不需要中间方介入。这便是我们的独特之处,而别的平台可能断送了 “普通人” 的机会并埋没了他们的潜在价值。
映客创始人 ─ 奉佑生

佑生 (映客)

"Brett 是映客的独立董事。他对于财务、政府关系以及海外市场都提供了很多有价值的建议。他希望帮助映客成为一个全球直播的行业领导者。"

Brett (紫辉创投)

"佑生有远大的视野,他渴望映客成为大众工具,这样任何人都可以展示自己的才华与天赋 —— 这是相当公平的一件事情。他渴望打造最为出色且真实的直播平台,以吸引对的目标用户群。"

The Story

佑生
在音乐行业工作了 10 年之后,我仍然渴望从事娱乐相关的工作。年轻一代的注意力正在从传统电视转移到移动端,这随之带来了移动直播的无限机会 —— 映客也由此诞生。
Brett
这是一个代际现象。佑生和他的团队深入研究 90 后用户的需求之后,发现这群年轻人在意的是毫无修饰的真实感,越是简单直接,越是最好的。
佑生
我们一开始便拥有清晰的方向。映客关注在中国一线城市生活,受过良好教育的年轻人。这种清晰的定位让我们在众多竞争对手当中脱引而出。
Brett
映客起步阶段一切都已经准备就绪——用户界面简洁易用,核心的IP也由中国工程师搭建,同时基于中国第三方支付平台构建起流畅的在线支付功能。

佑生
从第一天开始,映客的盈利模式便是销售虚拟商品,就如同在线游戏售卖虚拟道具一样。用户可以给他们喜爱的播客购买并赠送虚拟礼物,我们变从中获得利润分成。当然,广告和电商也是下一个阶段我们可能会考虑的变现方式。
Brett
我曾经协助优化映客的商业模式,以期获得更为长远的增长与成功。我对在线直播这个领域感到充满好奇与期待,一直在亚洲范围内帮助映客开拓更多的商业机会和搭建新的团队。我希望我的所作所为可以带来一些推动效果。
佑生
紫辉创投和 Brett 都超乎我的期待。因为他们不仅仅给予资源上的帮助,同时还会为我提供建议和有价值的经验。他们是映客遇到过最为积极并愿意深度合作的创投机构。
回到投资项目
Top