“Back then, the Tech Media and Telecoms (TMT) sector was not as mature or stable, so we had to work hard on our skills to satisfy the demands of our users.”

Yan Tang, Founder of Momo

Momo

Type

Social Network

Founder(s)

Yan Tang, Xiaoliang Lei,
Zhiwei Li

Year Invested

2011

Investment Stage

Angel (Sept 2011)

Company Intro

Momo is the most popular location-based social networking and services app in China. With more than 200 million registered users, Momo serves to connect primarily young communities throughout the country. Having launched a successful Nasdaq initial public offering in December 2014, Momo has continued to grow strongly, sourcing multi-million dollar revenues from streams including live broadcasting services, member subscriptions, mobile marketing and mobile gaming.

Website

“We’ve grown from a social network model that provides members with added-value services to a platform that includes games, integrated advertising and live broadcasting.”
Yan Tang, Co-founder of Momo

Yan (Momo)

"Scott is a risk-taker with an adventurous spirit. I didn’t really need to convince him, he invested because he was already a Momo user – he understood how Momo works and appreciated the user experience."

Scott (PurpleSky)

"Yan is a really social guy who understands what people want. He’s very down to earth and has a real understanding of social trends. I was very confident that he and his wife, who is a very talented product designer, would take Momo a long way from the angel stage."

The Story

Scott
A friend introduced me to Momo, which had been on the market just two weeks. I launched the App Store, found the developer and his phone number, and made the call. Tang asked if we could meet the next day, so I flew overnight from Shanghai to Beijing.
Yan
At that time, I had a competitive team and a good product. My wife was responsible for the design. The rest of the team were with us from the beginning to work on product design and the technical aspects of the application.
Scott
It took 15 minutes to make the decision. Many years experience using social networks allowed me to realize the uniqueness of Momo: simple and easy to use. A good social tool should be like this. The Momo team also had a good sense of the product and interpersonal communication.
Yan
Did he take a risk? Yes, I think so – PurpleSky was the only angel who was with us at that stage, but they supported us all the way through to IPO.
Scott
I recently learned that more than 30 VCs had rejected Momo before we cooperated. But my instinct told me I made the right decision. Momo was well-designed and had a concise interface, while other, similar products had weak design, with obvious flaws like poor font or color choice.
Yan
The most valuable benefit of the partnership is that PurpleSky does not interfere in specific aspects of the business. They cooperated rather than tried to control us. That’s very difficult and worthy of high praise. The whole process was smooth, straightforward and super efficient.
Back to Portfolio

More Stories

Top

“当时的 TMT 并没有眼下如此成熟与稳定,所以我们需要花费诸多技术精力去满足用户需求。”

陌陌联合创始人 ─ 唐岩

陌陌

类型

社交网络

创始人

唐岩、雷小亮、
李志威

投资年份

2011年

投资阶段

天使轮(2011年9月)

公司介绍

陌陌是中国最受欢迎的基于地理位置的移动社交服务应用。陌陌能够连接年轻用户群体,形成年轻人所喜爱的社交氛围。目前陌陌拥有超过 2 亿注册用户,并于 2014 年 12 月在美国纳斯达克交易所挂牌上市。陌陌不断扩大规模与变现能力,它的盈利模式来自视频直播服务、会员服务,移动广告营销和移动游戏等。

公司网站

“我们诞生于一个社交网络模式,并注入诸多附加价值与服务 —— 包括移动游戏,整合广告和直播功能。”
陌陌联合创始人 ─ 唐岩

唐岩 (陌陌)

"Scott 是一个具有探险精神的风险承担者。我不需要向他说明太多,他本身就是一名陌陌用户,因此他明白陌陌是如何运作的,以及用户体验是如何友好与便捷。"

Scott (紫辉创投)

"唐岩是一个真正的社交网络爱好者,所以明白用户需要什么。同时他也非常接地气,可以敏锐地捕捉到社交网络的趋势。我很肯定唐岩及他的爱人 —— 一位出色的设计师,相信两位可以带领陌陌发展壮大。"

The Story

Scott
当陌陌上线只有两周的时候,一位朋友就向我推荐了这款产品。我去到了苹果商店,找到开发者并拨通了电话。唐岩问我翌日是否方面见面,于是我连夜从上海飞到了北京赴约。
唐岩
当时我拥有一个雄心勃勃的团队以及一款好的产品。我的爱人负责设计,其他成员则从无到有地进行产品规划及解决各种技术问题。
Scott
我只花了15分钟便做了决定。数年的社交网络使用经验让我明白陌陌的独特之处——简洁易用,好的社交工具本就应该如此。与此同时陌陌的团队对于产品与社交都有着不错的认知。
唐岩
紫辉创投在冒险吗?我觉得是的。紫辉创投是我们在天使轮唯一合作的创投机构,他们一路支持陌陌,直到陌陌在纳斯达克上市。
Scott
我最近才知道在我们与陌陌合作之前,已经有30多家创投机构拒绝了陌陌。但是直觉告诉我这个决定是正确的。陌陌拥有不错的产品设计和简洁的交互界面——其他同类产品在设计上都存在着各种欠缺,例如使用了拙劣的字体或者不够和谐的色彩搭配。
唐岩
紫辉创投从来不对具体业务进行过多的干涉,这是我们合作关系当中我认为最具有价值的地方。他们从来没有渴望进行过多控制,这是难能可贵之处。而且投资合作的过程相当顺利与高效。
回到投资项目
Top