“I wanted to let Chinese women feel sexier. Sexy is not the same as beauty. Sexy is internal: Feeling healthy and empowered.”

Daini Xu, Founder of O2bra

O2bra

Type

Social Network,
E-Commerce

Founder(s)

Daini Xu

Year Invested

2013

Investment Stage

Seed (2013),
Series A (June 2015)

Company Intro

O2bra is an innovative online platform that centers on high-end women’s undergarments, providing e-commerce and social networking services for users to purchase items as well as share their thoughts and experiences. The company offers a user base of more than three million people over 80 lingerie brands, in the process driving a revolution in the way Chinese women think about themselves and what they wear.

Website

“O2 is bringing different cultural perspectives and products to Chinese women, teaching them to be open minded. China is pretty tough towards women – if you’re single more than a while people question whether you’re attractive. If you don’t have kids, people ask why. My thinking was to bring positivity and confidence – to give women courage.”
Daini Xu, Founder of O2bra

Daini (O2bra)

"Scott doesn’t care what other people think about him. He’s interested in the big direction. People wonder how he does his job. They think he’s just lucky to have been in so early with so many successful companies, but it’s down to his personality. It’s important to Scott that the founder has a long-term vision."

Scott (PurpleSky)

"I knew Daini had a close partnership with a leading fashion designer, and that she understood product design because she used to work at a social network. She had the right background to make O2bra work. I also recognized her resourcefulness, perception and vision."

The Story

Daini
I heard about Scott a long time ago. At first I didn’t think he was a serious investor. He didn’t have a suit and tie. But I’d already spoken to 30 angels before he gave me my first offer, and even then I didn’t think he was serious until he sent his associate over to confirm the terms. It was very different.
Scott
We met in the lobby of a hotel to talk about what she wanted to do. When I was in college in the US I had seen the Victoria’s Secret (VS) catalogue, so I knew something about how big this business was. I decided very quickly that I wanted to invest.
Daini
Other investors didn’t believe in the potential of the market. But Scott believed. He could look at lingerie from a different perspective and see the difference between what New Yorkers and Chinese women were wearing. Other investors would ask, “What’s so special about your bras?” But Scott thought it was obvious.
Scott
The model was enticing. Women might only buy a product once every month or two but the margin was high and this was a billion-dollar market. It was fragmented and largely untapped, and Daini’s idea leveraged the power of independent women. The new generation of Chinese women wanted more of a sense of their inner beauty. VS had succeeded in doing this in the US, so why not here?
Daini
I wasn’t worried in the early stages because Scott convinced me I was on the right path. He was worried about later on - exclusive arrangements, being imitated and developing our own designs. He also pledged to cover loans rather than have investors push us into bad habits like faking user data or focusing on short-term goals.
Scott
I didn’t do too much, just helped with the introductions to other investors, and with questions of business development. We established a five-year plan looking at how to grow the company.
Daini
We’re now communicating beauty in a way that only attracts the right girls. We present a lot of models who are regular users, in the process steering the culture so that quality is more important than quantity.
Back to Portfolio

More Stories

Top

“我希望可以让中国女性变得更加性感。性感与美丽不尽相同,性感是内在的,是一种健康与充满力量的感觉。”

氧气创始人 ─ 徐黛妮

氧气

类型

社交网络,
电子商务

创始人

徐黛妮

投资年份

2013年

投资阶段

种子轮(2013年)
A 轮(2015年6月)

公司介绍

氧气是一个聚集了高端女性内衣品牌的在线平台,向用户提供线上购物及社交网络服务。用户在消费的同时可以分享自己的想法和体验。目前氧气为超过 300 万的用户提供超过 80 个高品质的内衣品牌,以此来逐渐改变中国女性的观念、生活方式及穿着理念。

公司网站

“氧气为中国女性带来与众不同的文化视角与产品,让她们的视野变得更为开阔。在中国仍然存在对女性的一些误解——例如只要你暂时单身,便会有人来质疑你是否足够具有吸引力;如果你不打算生育孩子,那么也会有人来问你为什么。我希望给女性带来更多鼓励,传递正面积极的能量与自信。”
氧气创始人 ─ 徐黛妮

黛妮 (氧气)

"Scott 从来不在乎旁人对他的看法,他更着眼于大局。人们想知道 Scott 是如何成就自己事业的,但他们只是看到这个人很幸运,能够在早期便与相当多的优秀公司合作,但却不知道这些都是基于他的个人特质。此外,对 Scott 来说,创业公司的创始者需要具有高瞻远瞩的视野。"

Scott (紫辉创投)

"我知道黛妮和一位非常知名的时尚设计师有着紧密的合作关系,她也曾经在一家社交网络公司工作,因此对产品设计与审美有一定认知。基于这些,她有足够充分的经验和合适的背景去运作氧气。同时她的智慧,洞察与视野也都令我赞叹。"

The Story

黛妮
我很早之前就有听说过 Scott 了。最开始我并不觉得他会是一个严肃的投资者,因为他从来不是西装革履的装扮。在他给我第一笔投资之前,我已经与 30 位天使投资人有过接触,但直到他带着合伙人来与我确认合作事宜时,我才觉得他是认真的。这段经历实在是太与众不同了。
Scott
我们在酒店的大堂见面时,黛妮与我谈论了她渴望做的事情。当我在美国读书的时期曾经见到过维多利亚的秘密系列产品,当时我便知道在中国这会是一个大市场,很有机会。当黛妮说完之后我便快速决定我要参与投资。
黛妮
其他投资者不肯相信这个市场大有潜力,但是 Scott 相信。他可以从不同的维度看待女性内衣,并看到纽约女性和中国女性在内衣穿着上的不同。其他投资者会问,“你们要做的内衣有什么特别吗?” 但是 Scott 觉得这已经很显而易见了。
Scott
这个商业模式是相当吸引人的。虽然女性的内衣消费频次大致在每一、两个月时购买一次,但这也是一个利润丰厚并具有数十亿美元规模的市场,有着许多尚未被发觉的机会。黛妮的想法激发也彰显出独立女性的力量,这正是新一代中国女性所需要的。中国女性也正在寻找与发掘自己的内在魅力。维多利亚的秘密在美国大获成功,在中国相似的模式为什么不会出彩呢?
黛妮
在创业的早期阶段我没有太多顾虑,因为 Scott 使我确信我正处于正确的道路之上,但是他担忧的是随后的发展 —— 独家商业模式,未来模式会否被抄袭,以及如何开发我们独有的设计。Scott 同样做出了资金上的保证,但没有像其他投资者那样要求创始人伪造用户数据或只是短视地关注既得利益。
Scott
其实我也没有做太多事情。更多是将氧气介绍给其他投资者,同时对它的商业模式与发展提供一些思考与建议,并且对这家公司进行了一个五年规划以帮助它更为快速地成长。
黛妮
我们沟通美的方式会吸引到正确的女性族群。我们许多的模特都是氧气的常规用户,在这过程中,我们希望能引领一种文化,让大家了解质量比数量更为重要。
回到投资项目
Top