“We’d talked about solving these so-called pain points since 2011, but we did not want to be No Action, Talk Only (NATO), we wanted to fix these issues for everyone in the logistics industry.”

David Duan, Co-founder of oTMS

oTMS

Type

SaaS

Founder(s)

Mirek Dabrowski,
David Duan

Year Invested

2013

Investment Stage

Angel

Company Intro

oTMS is the world's first community-based software as a service (SaaS) transportation collaborative management platform, enabling the seamless transfer and sharing of data across what has historically been a paper-intensive and massively inefficient industry. oTMS has rapidly on-boarded more than 70 of the top 500 logistics companies in China as customers, not to mention global shipping firms and consumer brands. The award-winning solution enjoyed tenfold growth in its PC and mobile user base in 2014, and successfully processed more than 30 million orders the following year.

Website

“oTMS is a mature product that many companies had been using internally for three years to optimize transport sourcing and planning. It was something companies like Bestseller and Panasonic would use to coordinate distribution from tier one to lower-tier vendors, down to drivers and then the consignee. We wanted to put that all on the same page and then make it sharable between all parties.”
David Duan, Co-founder of oTMS

David (oTMS)

"PurpleSky have this sense as investors, somewhere between judgment and instinct. It is not easy to tell whether something like this will work in B2B, but they could."

Frank (PurpleSky)

"When they started, the infrastructure and office space they had in Pudong wasn’t great, but they did their best despite the limitations. Also, because Mirek was a foreigner, it complicated the investment structure. But they took it extremely seriously and completed the necessary reams of paperwork. We read drive and determination in that."

The Story

David
China has a RMB3-trillion trucking market but the top 10 players have less than 2% marketshare. There are 800,000 companies competing across China, presenting an incredibly complicated market. We were trying to link them all together and make them easily navigable for all stakeholders.
Frank
Initially, Mirek and David were thinking to run the business using a server as they wanted to focus on large enterprises. But we saw the potential of oTMS becoming a service that changed people’s lives, not only enterprises but individuals. Previously, logistics management was immobile – everyone needed to be sitting in front of a PC to work. We recommended the adoption of the software as a service (SaaS) model instead.
David
But our target clients are different to those using other SaaS products – they are big enterprises not SMEs – companies like Bestseller, Panasonic, LVMH or Li Ning. In 2013, when PurpleSky invested, it was not so simple to explain why SaaS works – it was not yet as widely accepted. Now we have a steadily increasing list of satisfied clients that proves oTMS’s effectiveness.
Frank
Yes, oTMS were the first to offer this service, its benefits were obvious. Stakeholders can obtain real-time track and trace information, all logistical info is recorded, and even cargo receipts can be signed off through the app.
David
We had revenue from day one - we felt we could charge because we were locking customers into a platform, and that meant they had to be sure we would be there over the long term.
Back to Portfolio

More Stories

Top

“从 2011 年开始我们便在讨论和打算解决所谓的痛点,但是我们不希望只是纸上谈兵。我们希望为运输链条上每一位用户真正解决这些问题。”

oTMS 联合创始人 ─ 段琰

oTMS

类型

SaaS

创始人

Mirek Dabrowski,
段琰

投资年份

2013年

投资阶段

天使轮

公司介绍

oTMS 是世界上第一个基于社区模式的 SaaS 运输协作管理平台。通过无缝传输与分享数据信息,提高了这个基于纸张记录并且效率低下的运输行业的运转速率,形成一个现代运输上商业网络。中国 500 强物流公司当中有超过 70 家公司使用 oTMS 的服务,在国际市场上也获得诸多跨国运输公司及消费品品牌青睐。oTMS 在 2014 年 PC 及移动端的用户增长规模达到数十倍,并在近几年来已经获得超过 3000 万的服务订单。

公司网站

“oTMS 是一个很多公司已经使用长达3年的成熟产品,可以帮助企业用户实现优化物流采购及规划。诸如绫致时装和松下这样的知名公司,都可以使用我们的服务去链接一级供应商,次级供应商,物流及收货方。我们希望将运输的各个环节都接入一个实时共享的系统之中,提升整个链条的效率。”
oTMS 联合创始人 ─ 段琰

段琰 (oTMS)

"紫辉创投拥有投资者所必备的敏锐,这是一种客观判断与个人直觉相互碰撞的产物。判断一个事物在 B2B 领域是否会有成效不是一件容易事情,但是紫辉创投能做到。"

Frank (紫辉创投)

"起初 oTMS 在上海浦东的办公环境与设备都很简陋,但是整个团队都打破了局限性。同时联合创始人 Mirek Dabrowski 是外国人,这让投资结构与事宜有些许复杂,但团队的工作态度都相当认真,并在投资过程中完成了大量的案头工作。我们从中看到了专注与决心。"

The Story

段琰
中国货物运输的市场规模达到 3 万亿元人民币,但是排名前 10 的参与者只占据了 2% 的市场份额。这个竞争激烈的市场上有 80 万家公司在参与这场游戏,我们正在尝试将其彼此连接,让所有的运输信息都可以实时、真实、可触。
Frank
初始,Mirek 与段琰主要用这项技术服务于大型企业,但是我们看到了 oTMS 不仅仅可以服务于企业,而且可以发展成为一种改变人们生活的服务的潜力。在此之前,物流管理只存在PC 端,人们需要坐在电脑前去工作,但现在我们看到了机会,所以向 oTMS 推荐了 SaaS 模式。

段琰
但是我们的目标顾客与大部分SaaS目标客户有所不同 —— 我们渴望专注于大公司而不是中小型企业 —— 例如绫致时装,松下,路威酩轩集团及李宁。在 2013 年紫辉创投投资我们之时,我们仍然有所斟酌 SaaS 模式是否合适并能否最终见效,因为 SaaS 在当时仍然是一个新兴概念。而到了 2016 年,越来越多客户的成功都证明了这是一个行之有效的方式。
Frank
的确,oTMS 是第一个在行业内提供 SaaS 服务的企业,而其效果是显而易见的。所有运输信息可以实时查看,物流数据都记录于后台,货品签收甚至可以通过 App 来进行。
段琰
我们运行的第一天便实现了收入,我认为这来源于我们创造了用户粘性 —— oTMS 将用户都归集到了这一个平台之上,这也就意味着我们的用户也会希望了解,oTMS 会一直长期存在着。
回到投资项目
Top